Darwish: un soldado sueña con azucenas

Identity of the Soul        هوية الروح

Un soldado que soñaba con azucenas blancas
Soñaba con azucenas blancas,
con una rama de olivo…
con el pecho de ella radiante a la tarde.
Soñaba -me dijo- con un pájaro,
con la flor del limonero,
no filosofaba, entendía las cosas
como las sentía… como las olía.
Pensaba -me dijo- que la patria
era que yo bebiese a sorbos el café de mi madre
y volviera a la tarde.
Le pregunté: ¿Y la tierra?
Dijo: No la conozco,
no la siento latir ni la llevo en la piel
como se dice en los poemas.
Pero un día la vi,
como se ve una tienda, una calle, los periódicos.
Le pregunté: ¿La amas?
Respondió: Mi amor es dar un paseo,
o un vaso de vino, o una aventura.
– ¿Morirías por ella?
Claro que no.
El lazo que me ata a la tierra
es un panfleto… un discurso.
Me enseñaron a amar su amor
pero no he sentido su corazón como propio,
no he olido la hierba, las raíces, las ramas.
– ¿Y cómo era amarla?
¿Pica como los soles… como la nostalgia?
Me contestó sin rodeos:
Mi manera de amar es un fusil,
el retorno de fiestas vetustas
y el silencio de una estatua perdida
de tiempo y origen remotos.
Me habló del momento de la despedida,
de cómo lloraba su madre
en silencio cuando le destinaron
al frente.
La voz atormentada de su madre
grabó bajo su piel un nuevo deseo:
Si crecieran palomas en el Ministerio de Defensa,
¡si crecieran palomas!
Se fumó un cigarro, luego me dijo
como si huyera de un pantano de sangre:
He soñado con azucenas blancas,
con una rama de olivo,
con un pájaro que abrazaba la mañana
en la rama de un limonero…
– ¿Y qué has visto?
He visto lo que he hecho,
una zarza roja
explotando en la arena, en los pechos, en los estómagos.
– ¿A cuántos has matado?
No sabría decirte…
pero me concedieron sólo una medalla.
Le pedí, torturándome: Venga,
descríbeme un cadáver.
Se acomodó en el asiento, y acariciando el periódico doblado
me dijo como quien canta una copla:
Como tumba el viento una jaima en la grava,
abrazando los luceros desplomados,
en la frente despejada una corona de sangre,
el pecho sin medallas,
porque no era bueno luchando,
parecía un labriego, o un obrero, o un vendedor ambulante.
Como tumba el viento un jaima en la grava… murió.
Los brazos
tendidos como dos arroyos secos.
Y cuando rebusqué en sus bolsillos
su nombre, hallé dos fotos:
una… de su mujer,
otra… de su hija.
Le pregunté: ¿Te dio pena?
Me interrumpió: Mi buen Mahmud,
la pena es un pájaro blanco
que no se asoma al campo de batalla. Peca
el soldado que siente pena.
Yo sólo era una máquina que escupía fuego rosáceo
y hacía del cielo un pájaro negro.
Me habló de su primer amor,
después,
de calles lejanas,
de las reacciones tras la guerra,
de las bravuconadas de la radio y los periódicos,
y mientras se tapaba la tos con el pañuelo
le pregunté: ¿Volveremos a vernos?
Me respondió: En una ciudad lejana.
A la cuarta copa
le dije bromeando: Así que te marchas… ¿Y la patria?
Me contestó: Déjate de patrias…
Yo sueño con azucenas blancas,
con una calle que gorjee y una casa encendida.
Quiero un corazón bueno, no carne de cañón,
quiero un día soleado, no el instante de la victoria,
demencial… fascista.
Quiero un niño alegre que le ría al día,
no un repuesto para la máquina bélica.
He venido para vivir el alba de los soles,
no su ocaso.
Se despidió de mí… buscaba azucenas blancas,
un pájaro que saludara a la mañana
en la rama de un olivo,
no entendía las cosas
sino como las sentía… como las olía.
Pensaba -me dijo- que la patria
era que yo bebiese a sorbos el café de mi madre
y que volviera, tranquilo, con la tarde.
(Traducción Luz Gómez García)

جندي يحلم بالزنابق البيضاء

بغصن زيتون

بصدرها المورق في المساء

يحلم قال لي بطائر

بزهر ليمون

و لم يفلسف حلمه لم يفهم الأشياء

إلا كما يحسّها.. يشمّها

يفهم قال لي إنّ الوطن

أن أحتسي قهوة أمي

أن أعود في المساء

سألته: و الأرض؟

قال: لا أعرفها

و لا أحس أنها جلدي و نبضي

مثلما يقال في القصائد

و فجأة، رأيتها

كما أرى الحانوت..و الشارع.. و الجرائد

سألته: تحبها

أجاب: حبي نزهة قصيرة

أو كأس خمر.. أو مغامرة

من أجلها تموت ؟

كلا!

و كل ما يربطني بالأرض من أواصر

مقالة نارية.. محاضرة!

قد علّموني أن أحب حبّها

و لم أحس أن قلبها قلبي،

و لم أشم العشب، و الجذور، و الغصون..

وكيف كان حبّها

يلسع كالشموس ..كالحنين؟

أجابني مواجها:

وسيلتي للحب بندقية

وعودة الأعياد من خرائب قديمة

و صمت تمثال قديم

ضائع الزمان و الهوية!

حدّثني عن لحظة الوداع

و كيف أمّة

تبكي بصمت عندما ساقوه

إلى مكان ما من الجبهة…

و كان صوت أمه الملتاع

يحفر تحت جلده أمنية جديدة:

لو يكبر الحمام في وزارة الدفاع

لو يكبر الحمام!

..دخّن، ثم قال لي

كأنه يهرب من مستنقع الدماء:

حلمت بالزنابق البيضاء

بغصن زيتون

بطائر يعانق الصباح

فوق غصن ليمون

وما رأيت؟

رأيت ما صنعت

عوسجة حمراء

فجرتها في الرمل.. في الصدور.. في البطون

و كم قتلت ؟

يصعب أن أعدهم

لكنني نلت وساما واحدا

سألته، معذبا نفسي، إذن

صف لي قتيلا واحدا

أصلح من جلسته ،وداعب الجريدة المطويّة

و قال لي كأنه يسمعني أغنية

كخيمة هوى على الحصى

و عانق الكوكب المحطمة

كان على جبينه الواسع تاج من دم

وصدره بدون أوسمة

لأنه لم يحسن القتال

يبدو أنه مزارع أو عامل أو بائع جوال

كخيمة هوى على الحصى ..و مات

كانت ذراعاه

ممدودتين مثل جدولين يابسين

و عندما فتّشت في جيوبه

عن اسمه، وجدت صورتين

واحد ..لزوجته

واحد.. لطفله

سألته: حزنت؟

أجابني مقاطعا يا صاحبي محمود

الحزن طيّر أبيض

لا يقرب الميدان. و الجنود

يرتكبون الإثم حين يحزنزن

كنت هناك آلة تنفث نارا وردى

و تجعل الفضاء طيرا أسودا

حدثّني عن حبه الأول،

فيما بعد

عن شوارع بعيدة،

و عن ردود الفعل بعد الحرب

عن بطولة المذياع و الجريدة

و عندما خبأ في منديله سعلته

سألته: أنلتقي

أجاب: في مدينة بعيدة

حين ملأت كأسه الرابع

قلت مازحا.. ترحل و.. الوطن ؟

أجاب: دعني

إنني أحلم بالزنابق البيضاء

بشارع مغرّد و منزل مضاء

أريد قلبا طيبا، لا حشو بندقية

أريد يوما مشمسا، لا لحظة انتصار

مجنونة.. فاشيّة

أريد طفلا باسما يضحك للنهار،

لا قطعة في الآله الحربية

جئت لأحيا مطلع الشموس

لا مغربها

ودعني، لأنه.. يبحث عن زنابق بيضاء

عن طائر يستقبل الصباح

فوق غصن زيتون

لأنه لا يفهم الأشياء

إلاّ كما يحسّها.. يشمّها

يفهم قال لي إن الوطن

أن أحتسي قهوة أمي

أن أعود، آمنا مع، المساء

2 Respuestas a “Darwish: un soldado sueña con azucenas

  1. A Soldier Dreams of White Lillies

    He dreams of white lilies, an olive branch, her breasts in evening
    blossom.
    He dreams of a bird, he tells me, of lemon flowers.
    He does not intellectualize about his dream. He understands things as he
    senses and smells them.
    Homeland for him, he tells me, is to drink my mother’s coffee, to return
    at nightfall.
    And the land? I don’t know the land, he said.
    I don’t feel it in my flesh and blood, as they say in the poems.
    Suddenly I saw the land as one sees a grocery store, a street,
    newspapers.
    I asked him, but don’t you love the land? My love is a picnic, he said, a
    glass of wine, a love affair.
    – Would you die for the land?
    – No!
    All my attachment to the land is no more than a story or a fiery speech!
    They taught me to love it, but I never felt it in my heart.
    I never knew its roots and branches, or the scent of its grass.
    – And what about its love? Did it burn like suns and desire?
    He looked straight at me and said: I love it with my gun.
    And by unearthing feasts in the garbage of the past
    and a deaf-mute idol whose age and meaning are unknown.
    He told me about the moment of departure, how his mother
    silently wept when they led him to the front,
    how her anguished voice gave birth to a new hope in his flesh
    that doves might flock through the Ministry of War.
    He drew on his cigarette. He said, as if fleeing from a swamp of blood,
    I dreamt of white lilies, an olive branch, a bird embracing the dawn in a
    lemon tree.
    – And what did you see?
    – I saw what I did:
    a blood-red boxthorn.
    I blasted them in the sand…in their chests…in their bellies.
    – How many did you kill?
    – It’s impossible to tell. I only got one medal.
    Pained, I asked him to tell me about one of the dead.
    He shifted in his seat, fiddled with the folded newspaper,
    then said, as if breaking into song:
    He collapsed like a tent on stones, embracing shattered planets.
    His high forehead was crowned with blood. His chest was empty of
    medals.
    He was not a well-trained fighter, but seemed instead to be a peasant, a
    worker or a peddler.
    Like a tent he collapsed and died, his arms stretched out like dry creek-
    beds.
    When I searched his pockets for a name, I found two photographs, one of
    his wife, the other of his daughter.
    Did you feel sad? I asked.
    Cutting me off, he said, Mahmoud, my friend,
    sadness is a white bird that does not come near a battlefield.
    Soldiers commit a sin when they feel sad.
    I was there like a machine spitting hellfire and death,
    turning space into a black bird.
    He told me about his first love, and later, about distant streets,
    about reactions to the war in the heroic radio and the press.
    As he hid a cough in his handkerchief I asked him:
    Shall we meet again?
    Yes, but in a city far away.
    When I filled his fourth glass, I asked jokingly:
    Are you off? What about the homeland?
    Give me a break, he replied.
    I dream of white lilies, streets of song, a house of light.
    I need a kind heart, not a bullet.
    I need a bright day, not a mad, fascist moment of triumph.
    I need a child to cherish a day of laughter, not a weapon of war.
    I came to live for rising suns, not to witness their setting.
    He said goodbye and went looking for white lilies,
    a bird welcoming the dawn on an olive branch.
    He understands things only as he senses and smells them.
    Homeland for him, he said, is to drink my mother’s coffee, to return
    safely,
    at nightfall
    (Traducido: Munir Akash y Carolyn Forché)

Responder

